I need another day to recover from the weekend…

Triathlon Training

Triathlon Training

Wednesday last week was a trial. Early morning swim, followed by my first time trial this year, and loved it! It’s close to work and the run course has it’s some challenging sections, giving you some good experience of both hill and flat training…. Yep, I will be back this week! Not only for the experience, but also because I’ve been told that these time trial are good for your speed improvements.

Thursday, I was suppose to have a spinning session. Following a hectic day at the office I decided I was going to take a breather and make it up. See Herma and Lee I take breaks šŸ™‚

Friday, was mini-tri morning. I was at the gym before by 05h10 and spinning not too long after that. I’d last 10 minutes, so I would have to trade it in with one of the disciplines. The run unfortunately was cut short else I would not make it back home in time for work.

Saturday, even before the cock had crowed I was on the road, making my way to the east of Jozi for the Dare to TRI group cycling.

Daniel and I Post our Ride and Brick Run

Daniel and I Post our Ride and Brick Run

It was also the first time I met some of the Germiston Five. This was 5 laps of 6km roughly making it a 30km ride. Then it was into transition and back on the road for a 4km “brick run“. Unreal how one’s legs feel like lead at this point.

Once the run was completed, it was time for the Running Off The Bike Chat with Patricia Gouws. Enjoyed learning why I get the “lead legs” feeling after cycling and going into a run. More importantly, learning how to overcome it or be better prepared for it. While listening to Patricia we of course got to enjoy some of the delicious coffee and banana loaf on sale.

Sunday morning we were up early, this time my hubs was off to ride the Rand Water Race for Victory, while my son and I went to run a 5km in support of the local police station. This was our second year supporting it, and the run was loads more fun. Although the route remained as challenging as last year, we had a much better race .. not sure if it was because we were the first pram home šŸ™‚

Now, it’s time to relax… truly feels like I need another day just to recover šŸ™‚ Have an early evening and begin to mentally prepared for the week and training ahead.

EKL

One thought on “I need another day to recover from the weekend…

Comments are closed.