RunSA the APP

Run SA

Run SA

I recently came across the RunSA app in one of my social media timelines. Loving gadgets and apps I was drawn to it, more so because of my new-found love for running πŸ™‚

The app is free and they have versions for both Android or iOS. According to the developers it was designed with the South African running community in mind. It has information for both the roadie and the trail runner.

I found the app very user-friendly, extremely easy to navigate around and the information provided relevant.

After you’ve downloaded the app, and move past the welcome screen your next step is to select the province you’re in.

First screen

First screen

After you’ve selected your province a list of races taking place in that province is displayed, you will see when it is taking place and the distances on offer.

Screen 2

Screen 2

Select the race that you’re interested in, and you will move onto another screen displaying more information about the race. You’re given details about where the race will be taking place, start time, costs etc. Additionally and this I really liked, mainly because directions and I just haven’t clicked yet πŸ™‚ On the bottom right hand corner you will find a red dot with the words “Get Directions” under it!

Screen 3

Screen 3

Clicking on the red dot Β “Get Directions” will bring up a map. As the app has GPS capabilities it can pick up where your current position is and basically direct you to the start of the race! How bloody amazing is that! I loved it!

Map

Map

The app also offers you some running tips, currently they have 4 but I’m guessing it will grow as they release newer versions of the RunSA app.

Tips

Tips

Lastly they have a screen with links to the various result pages.

Results

Results

My thoughts on it …

Initially I was a little hesitant about it, but as I play around with it I am enjoying it and find it handy. It’s a great 1Stop information source. It would be great though, if in the next version of the app it would also let the user enter and pay for the race directly from the Run SA app.

You can download it too and try it out by clicking on either the Google Play or App Store logos below:

google play

App store

Happy Running!

This was not a sponsored review, but my own thoughts.

EKL

