Race Review : ArthroChoice 10Km Run

ArthroChoice RunThese are my thoughts on the race..

This past weekend I took part for the second year in a row. Last year I had come in the top 10 in my age group and it was my first sub60.

I’m trying to get back my running fitness from last year this time. I’ve still got loads of work ahead of me. I managed a 74 this year and nowhere near top 10 😦

Distance : 21.1km, 10km, 5km

Weather : It was brilliant, beautiful blue sky and morning. I do believe it was warmer than last year too.

Parking : There was plenty of secure parking close to the start.

Organisation : Midrand Striders were the organisers. It was well organised from number collection on Saturday and throughout the route.

Marshalling : The marshals were helpful along the route.

Water Tables : Plenty of water and coke at the watering tables when I ran passed, with a beautiful vibe going.

ArthroChoice RunMedals : There were plenty of medals to go around.

Overall : The start was not so bad last year. I don’t recall us all having to start, picking up speed, then suddenly have to stop and walk due to a bottleneck literally a few meters from the start.

The rest of the race was pretty smooth running 🙂

The 21km and 10km runners started together and split at about the 2.5km point going off in different directions. When 10km runners were at about the 6km mark, the 21km leaders caught up for about another 1km before once more we split, going off in opposite direction. We only met up again in the finish stretch.

The route had loads of sneaky hills, so although it seemed pretty easy at first, those sneaky hills that were thrown in every few kilometres made you realise it wasn’t a walk in the park.

Definitely, one I will be running again next year.

EKL

