2017 Fitness Goals

Fit Dad

The first month of 2017 is almost over and I haven’t yet updated my blog.

2017 is going to be my “comeback” year! Yes, after not being extremely active in 2016 compared to 2015, let’s just say that I can see the effect this had on me physically.

To make sure I didn’t come up with excuses, last year I started entering races I wanted to take part in this year. With the entering of races comes the need for training.

I want to be able to finish the races comfortably and not struggle through them. 

Over the Christmas holidays, I started heading out on the road for 10-15km runs.  The first races for me this year was the Dischem Half Marathon. I used this race to assess where I was with my fitness. Let’s say that I struggled the second half of the route has shown me I need to put mileage on my legs.

This year I’m not planning on running any marathons, at least not in the first half of the year. To help me get the mileage leading up to the race, I’ve now entered a few 21 and 10km races close to me. In addition to the weekly training runs on my own. I’ve now also convinced one of my neighbours to join me on the weekly runs, we had our first run this past Monday. We’re about on par in terms of fitness so if we manage to maintain these runs, I have no doubt we will be not only motivating each other but also lifting each other’s fitness. Egos are involved 🙂

Fit Dad

My second Midmar is happening soon. I’ve had to make time to hit the local pool this month to remain swim fit.

Last year’s time wasn’t that great so hoping to somehow record something a little better in comparison. I used the Dischem Sun City Swim last year (start of our swimming season) and the first Cradle Moon Swim as my seeding swims. That’s done, time to focus on getting ready for Midmar 2017!

What are your fitness goals for 2017?

For me, 2017 fitness goals are definitely to run more 21km, 10km races and enter more open water races.

EKL

One thought on “2017 Fitness Goals

Comments are closed.