Race Review : Bidvest McCarthy Toyota 34th Half Marathon

Race ReviewThese are my thoughts on the race…

For the last two years I’ve meant to run this race but just never got round to it. This year I was up at 3 AM and made my way to Pretoria.

Having never run this race before I had no idea where I was going, so was reliant on my navigator to get me there.

I arrived with plenty of time before my race start time of 06:30 AM

Distance: 10km

Weather: The weather was kinda interesting really. Although cool but warm while we waited for the start gun, the first 5kms felt rather warm for me. This perhaps because we spent it climbing. The second half of the race was pleasantly cool.

Parking: Plenty of secure parking around the race start/finishing area.

Organisation: Magnolia Road Runners hosted a well-organised race. Entering was simple, number collection was quick, no fuss. The race route was fast with markings from the 5km point. My only gripe that I didn’t see any road km markings before reaching 5km. I guess I’ve been spoilt by the other races.

Marshalling: The marshals were helpful along the route and were managing traffic amazingly well.

Water Tables : Plenty of water and coke at the watering tables when I ran past, with the people manning the tables super helpful.

Race Review

Medals: A standard medal design, there was nothing “wow” about it.

Overall: A well-organised race. Super happy that 2016 license remain valid until the 17th February 2017. Yep, haven’t received my license for 2017 yet from my club.

A fast route I felt with a wonderful mix of hidden hills and declines. The last 5km we mostly ran downhill which was a wonderful bonus after spending the first 5km climbing.

Will stay in my running calendar for 2018!

EKL

