Race Review : SARENS 21 2017


Race ReviewThese are my thoughts on the race…

This year I decided to run Sarens 21km for the first time. I’d heard about the race and how tough it was.

It was a pretty early start …

Distance : 21.1km

Weather : The weather was cool at the start of the race, but warmed up really well by the time I finished my run.

Race ReviewParking : Arriving at the venue with 20 minutes to spare, traffic ran all the way from the highway off-ramp to just before the start arch. Why? The organisers had blocked the road leading to the arch, plenty of parking on both sides of the road. Roughly, ten minutes before the start of the race they decided to open the road and let cars in. I don’t understand why. Blocking the road caused an unnecessary delay for runners that had yet to get their numbers.

The organisers had blocked the road leading to the arch, plenty of parking on both sides of the road. Roughly, ten minutes before the start of the race they decided to open the road and let cars in. I still don’t understand why. Blocking the road caused an unnecessary traffic jam and delay for runners that had yet to get their numbers.

Organisation : Edenvale Rand Road Warriors hosted the Sarens Marathon. Entering the race was straightforward. I decided to collect my race number the day before, a good move considering mayhem on Sunday morning. The start was miles better compared to the Sunrise Monster I ran the weekend before, slightly hindered by the closed gate giving runners access to a cordoned off suburb. This should have been opened before the race started.

Marshalling : The marshals were helpful along the route.

Water Tables : Plenty of water and coke at the watering tables when I ran past, with the people manning the tables super helpful.

Race ReviewMedals : I found the Sarens medal different from the standard medals handed out at races. There was a bit of creativeness to it. It has character. Seriously, why do races shy away from breaking away from the boring mould?

Overall : Aside from the few hiccups leading up to and just after the start of the race, the race itself was reasonably well organised.

The route hosted enough challenge to test all levels of fitness, whether you are a regular runner, a professional or the weekend runner. A sneaky up run to the finish although I hated it as I ran up it, reminded me of the MiWay Wally Hayward finish. It also had a sneaky climb leading up to the finish.

There were a number of kids around with family, disappointed in the lack of entertainment for them and lack of refreshments for those supporting the runners.

May stay in my running calendar!

EKL

One thought on “Race Review : SARENS 21 2017

Comments are closed.