Race Review : OM DIE DAM 2017


Race ReviewThese are my thoughts on the race…

I last ran Om Die Dam in 2015, last year I decided not to take part after the poor organisation of the event.

This year after reading all the race’s PR on the race I decided I would attempt the race this year.

Distance : 21.1km

Weather : The weather was cool at the start of the race, but warmed up really well by the time I finished my run.

Race ReviewParking : We arrived at the venue with an hour to spare. Made a huge difference. No rush to find adequate parking, but the queues of cars … that didn’t change. It just meant a REALLY early start for us. 3AM!

Organisation : Hartbeespoort Marathon Club hosted OM DIE DAM. Entering the race was straightforward and professional. Number collection was easy and no fuss. The start and end moved from the Shopping Centre and closer to the dam .. great move! There seemed to be different starting areas, some from the village and others from the side of the road from the village. This was very strange and confusion. Once the race started though the route flowed and we all found our pace quickly.

Marshalling: The marshals were helpful along the route.

Race ReviewWater Tables: Plenty of water and coke at the watering tables when I ran past, with the people manning the tables super helpful.

Medals: Same medal as last three years at least. Time for a change maybe?

Overall: A well-organised race. The route itself provided enough challenge for all runners, mostly similar to earlier years with minor changes in the 21.1km route.

May stay in my running calendar, eish the early start though …

EKL

